what are the different DVD formats?

Written by on Wednesday, July 2, 2008 20:50 - 0 Comments

Comparison of DVD Formats

There are five distinct types for a standard red beam DVD: DVD-ROM, DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, and DVD+RW.  The ROM is a commercially produced disc, it can’t be altered by the end-user. DVD-R and DVD+R are two different manufacturer standards, both will play commercial discs, but they won’t play discs made on or for the other manufacturer. The -RW and +RW discs are likewise made using the two standards, but the W means they can be written to over and over.  Typical capacity is 4.7GB of data.

Blu-ray and HD-DVD style discs offers up to 25GB of storage.  This is achieved because the blue beam laser creates a smaller dot on the disc surface.  Blu-ray discs are able to read a standard, or red, DVD, but this isn’t true in reverse.

The thing to watch for is the multi-layered red beam discs being developed.  By adding additional layers to a disc, capacity is likely to be expanded to as much as 50GB.  This type of mechanism will also be backwardly compatible.  While it’s only starting to gain recognition, this could well be the way to go. ')}

Article written by MyComputerAid.com

Comments are closed.

Ad Sponsor


2003 server - Sep 30, 2008 22:34 - 0 Comments

instant messaging srv records

More In Computers & PC

Microsoft Outlook - Mar 22, 2009 11:22 - 0 Comments

Outlook: Duplicates in Mailbox

More In Computers & PC

Microsoft Desktop, Web browsers and Internet, Windows 2000, Windows 7, Windows 98, Windows Firewall and networking, Windows Vista, Windows XP - Feb 8, 2010 18:09 - 0 Comments

Disable Proxy settings in IE

More In Computers & PC